Pirate proud

Pirate proud

Paxi athletes receive postseason honors

The Cotopaxi High School volleyball and football programs held their fall sports awards night on Wednesday at the high school.

The Pirate spikers finished their season third in the District 6 standings with a 19-6 overall record and qualified for the regional tournament.  Seniors Claire Carlson, Jamie Sanchez and Savannah Serfoss earned all-conference honors. They are joined by juniors Shealee Coleman and Koylynn Gulliford, who received all-conference co-MVP recognition.

They also earned letters along with junior Taylor Key, sophomores Roxan Koch, Annalise Walker and Sami DeVries, freshman Ashlyn Cooper and team managers Abby Fieth and Novalee Koch.

Participants in the program are juniors Amanda Fallas, Ashley Powell, Erica Cauthron; freshmen Kelsey Buss, Trinity Gallup and Camille Lind; and senior Morgan Halem.

The football team won its conference title, finished 6-4 overall and qualified for the state playoffs. Earning all-conference honors are seniors Tyler Sawyer, Liam True, Frank Ogden, Zack Vanesselstine and freshman Ty Coleman. Junior Jonah Bertolino received all-conference honorable mention. Ogden and Vanesselstine garnered all-conference co-MVP awards.

They earned letters along with junior Collin Whipple, sophomores Dane Devries, Jacob Maestas, Wayne Ogden and Colten Dunn; and freshmen Gary Jarvis and Simon Bertolino. Also earning letters are team managers Alex Cole, Sage Laymon and Troy Castor.

Sophomore Coleman Cooper was a participant. Jeremy Cole was named Southwest Football Conference coach of the year.